I Love Road Trips

Stash Enhancement…. Oh what fun we had with our trip to Homestead yesterday 🙂 I managed to resist the urge to buy any painted canvases and stick to mostly fibers like I had planned.

First we have my red Lee purse canvas. They had a new fiber called Soy Luster that I’m going to use on the hat and I got some overdye from Sampler Threads to do her hair, I’m not making her a blonde, I’m not a blonde so I figured I’d make her hair a bit more like mine 😉 Also some Needle Necessities for the background which should look fabulous.

These are 2 other Lee inserts. The rectangle goes into a small clutch and the round one is for a jewelry case. This one, with the exception of the background is going to be done in all Soy Luster with a wrapped backstitch in Kreinik gold for the outlining. The Mandarin floss is fabulous if you’ve never tried it. It is made from bamboo and has a nice sheen, simular to Splendor from Rainbow Gallery but it is much nicer to work with. I’ve had a couple bad experiences with Splendor so now I tend to avoid it.

Ahhh wool 🙂 I bought A-Z of Crewel Embroidery a few weeks back and have been dying to try one of the projects. I finally settled on this one which I am going to stitch onto a cream damask fabric, eventually making a pillow out of it. I’ve never personally worked with these Appleton Crewel wools so we’ll see how this goes.

And last but not least, I did get one new design. Crown of Hearts was hanging on a wall and I just couldn’t resist 🙂 I love Jean Hilton designs and this one is a nice small one so it should be a quick stitch.

Now no trip to the LNS would be complete with out some new tool 😉 I picked up a cool set of bullion needles as I’m likely to use some bullions on the Lady in the red hat and I got these cool scissors! These are the tinest, most intricate pair of scissors I have ever seen. These should work well for trimming fibers when doing hardanger.

6 thoughts on “I Love Road Trips”

Leave a Reply

